Total Pageviews

Sunday, February 12, 2012

PCAHA Juvenile Canucks Strike Gold


February 12, 2012

The Championship game of the 30th Annual PCAHA Juvenile Scholarship Tournament was held yesterday at Sungod Arena in North Delta, BC. 

In what can only be described as 'thrilling', the Senators and Canucks played an epic hockey game resulting in a double overtime 4-3 win for the Canucks. The Canucks who had lost their last round robin game to the Senators came out hungry for 'revenge'. The equally hungry Senators kept the game fast paced with everyone sitting on the edge of their seats.

Outstanding goal tending by Senators #1 Brenden Vogt (Ridge Meadows Minor Hockey) and the tag team goalies  # 30 Jason Sidhu (Surrey Minor Hockey) and #1 Tyson Leblanc (Seafair Minor Hockey) for the Canucks. 
Goals for the Senators:

  • #12 Brody Hemrich (Cloverdale Minor Hockey) with assist from #10 Braden Strelezki (Ridge Meadows Minor Hockey 
  • #9 Mike Ward (Port Coquitlam Minor Hockey) with assist from #16 Jacob Wiebe (Cloverdale Minor Hockey)
  • #16 Jacob Wiebe (Cloverdale Minor Hockey) unassisted
Goals for the Canucks:

  • #3 Devon Whitter (Coquitlam Minor Hockey) assisted by # 19 David Kemp (Seafair Minor Hockey) and # 10 Michael Rose (Seafair Minor Hockey)
  • #10 Michael Rose (Seafair Minor Hockey) assisted by #5 Justin Oertel (North Delta Minor Hockey)
  • #17 Bobby MacLean (Surrey Minor Hockey) unassisted
  • #5 Justin Oertel (North Delta Minor Hockey) unassisted *double overtime winning goal*
The exciting conclusion to the Tournament, came to it's apex with the rewarding of the Earl Sinkie Trophy (The creator of the Trophy and Tournament). 

Brek Stewart (Managing Director Juvenile Division for P.C.A.H.A) accompanied by Earl Sinkie presented the Trophy to the Canucks (Coached by Jim Schuck and Maurice Hamlin both of Richmond Minor Hockey). The boys all received their individual gold medals along with the hoisting of the Trophy.
The silver medals handed out to the Senators (Coached by Dan Melanson of Burnaby Winter Club and Derek Chichak of Seafair Minor Hockey) 

The closing ceremonies wouldn't have been complete without the presentation of the three five hundred dollar bursaries to the Tournament MVP's. 

First the game MVP's were handed out to:

#1 Tyson Leblanc of the Canucks (Representing Seafair Minor Hockey)
#15 Cale Bechtel of the Senators (Representing Abbotsford Minor Hockey)

The Tournament MVP Winners were as follows:

#7 Trevor Yu of the Flames (Representing Vancouver Minor Hockey)
#15 Cale Bechtel of the Senators (Representing Abbotsford Minor Hockey)
#14 Kyle Baxter of the Canucks (Representing North Delta Minor Hockey)

No comments:

Post a Comment

Thank you for stopping by and reading my blog. Feel free to drop me a note to say how you liked my work. Please remember that foul language is not appropriate.